Add to favorite  |   home  





A few words about  Rowy...


The town of Rowy is located among pine forests, in the immediate neighbourhood of the Słowiński National Park, on the left bank of river Łupawa, which flowing through Gardno, finds estuary here to the sea, at the same time determining entry to the port of Rowy (54°40'N 17°03'E). This makes a unique microclimate and excellent conditions for rest and tourism. Rowy can boast of beautiful broad, sandy beaches separated from the resort by a strip of sand dunes grown over with dwarf pine and a picturesque port filled with colourful fishing boats. Cliff coast can be admired to the west of the town, and mobile dunes in the east - in the Słowiński National Park. Permanent inhabitants are almost 400 persons mainly dealing with fishing and tourism. In Rowy worth seeing is the neo-Roman church from the 1st half of the 19th century, made of granite blocks, with a bell-tower. While walking in the streets of Rowy you can also pay attention to typical houses (domy szachulcowe) originating from the 19th century. In Rowy angling competition is held, and proponents of nudism gather here in the summer.


Important dates associated with Rowy


1282 - year of the first mention about Rowy, as a fishing harbor – document with the name of the village, as Rou in which prince Mściwój II renovated the procedure of conferring estate to the church of St. Stanisław in Gardno.

13th century - the village was the sea harbour for the town of Gardna Wielka.

1390 - they say that at the port of Rowy called a vessel with the later king of England Henry the 4th, who was on a voyage to Gdansk.

The village appears again in
15th century notes documenting the history of Pomeranian families von Zitzewitz, von Stojentin, von Kleist.

1602 - wider information about the village, regarding rescript regulating duties of the pastor.

1784 - 26 families were living here who subsisted on fishery.

1779 - in the local church the last homily in the Kaszub language was given.

20th century - summer camp houses and holiday centres, pensions and recreational houses were created here that for the vast part constitute the present buildings in the village.

2003- when deepening the port a few-metre-long boat originating from the 13th century was found at the bottom of the port channel.